Travel Ban

        On June 26, 2017, the U.S. Supreme Court partially permitted the execution of President Trump’s travel ban.  Under the Supreme Court’s ruling, foreign nationals who cannot establish a close relationship to an entity or person living in the United States are banned for 90 days from entering the country if they are from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen and 120 days if they are refugees from any country.

Beginning 8 p.m. on June 29, 2017, the travel ban will be enforced.   The ban DOES NOT affect the following individuals:

  • Those with U.S. visas that have not been revoked;
  • Admitted or current students of U.S. educational institutions;
  • Those with employment or business ties to the United States;
  • Those who have a parent, spouse, child, adult son or daughter, son-in-law, daughter-in-law or sibling in the United States, according to U.S. Department of State guidelines, which may be subject to change;
  • S. citizens;
  • Legal permanent residents (that is, green card holders);
  • Dual nationals;
  • Asylees (those who have been granted asylum in the United States); and
  • Refugees already admitted to the United States.

Anyone who is subject to the travel ban may seek a waiver, which will be decided on a case-by-case basis at the discretion of the Department of Homeland Security and the State Department.

Please call University Student Legal Services if you are a currently registered NC State University student to set up an appointment to discuss this any further if you have questions.